Sunset on the Not So Pacific

My father, whose name was also Frederick Hahne, the fourth in a row, was a merchant marine from 1939 to 1945 during World War II. He worked as a chief mate aboard merchant ships delivering munitions to the US Navy and Marines throughout the South Pacific.  Yesterday, I paid a visit to the Sailors Union of the Pacific in San Francisco to review some potential office space for a Foundation which I serve as President of the board of directors. Being there reminded me of “Big Fred” because he often mentioned it in stories during the war years. At sunset, I took a walk on Ocean Beach at the other of San Francisco from the Sailors Union of the Pacific and witnessed an incredible sunset over the Pacific about which Big Fred often commented “sometimes the Pacific is not so pacific”.

Comments are closed.